Reps. Durkin, Mautino named Police Chiefs' Public Officials of the Year

Springfield, IL - Illinois House Republican Leader Jim Durkin (R-82nd Dist.) and Rep. Frank J. Mautino (D-76th Dist.) were named the 2013 Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police (ILACP) Public Officials of the Year in recognition of their efforts benefiting law enforcement and the criminal justice system.

The awards were presented March 26, 2014, at the ILACP Legislative Reception at the Sangamo Club in Springfield. 

“Representatives Durkin and Mautino understand the legislative needs of police officers and police chiefs," said Downer's Grove Police Chief Robert Porter, ILACP president. "Rep. Durkin was instrumental in passing eavesdropping legislation related to undercover narcotics cases, and was open to listening to the concerns of law enforcement officials and conduct his own research related to the proposed medical marijuana legislation, voting against it. He then assisted us in bringing forth our concerns when the law passed."

Porter continued, “Rep. Mautino is being honored for spending countless hours behind the scenes negotiating provisions of many controversial bills. He supported law enforcement by voting against medical marijuana legislation and has sponsored laws relieving some financial burdens on the criminal justice system.” 

Nominations are made by ILACP members each year. Award nominees must meet minimum criteria established by the organization. Any elected or appointed federal or state official from the executive, judicial or legislative branches of government, or their staff, are eligible.

Nominees must exhibit knowledge and understanding of law enforcement concerns as they relate to state or federal legislation, and have demonstrated exceptional efforts by sponsoring and/or supporting legislation of importance to law enforcement in Illinois, and in the best interest of the ILACP membership, including working to find legislative solutions to law enforcement concerns where necessary, whether through negotiation or outspoken support.